Your Image: Don’t Be Afraid To Be Different

I’m looking for a “free thinking” freelancer to partner with on an upcoming project. After scouring a few dozen websites, one thing has become painfully obvious.

There are too many people out there afraid to be different. I’m looking for a partner that’s not afraid to think differently, to try different things until the right solution is born.  

But I did not see creativity. Instead I saw the same language used over and over again. The credentials, testimonials, solutions, work samples, it all looked the same. Now, I’m sure each of these freelancers have something that makes him/her unique, but I can’t tell from the site. And I’m not inclined to contact them for more samples, because I expect the best to be posted. 

However, there is one great thing that came from this exercise. I’m now taking stock of my own image, because I want to be sure it represents me, the true Towanda. And I encourage you to do the same.

Look at everything. Not only your website and brochures, but everything (business cards, CDs, newsletters, etc.) you use to tell people about you and your products/services.  Are your materials full of business clichés that have lost their meaning? Do they look like every other company? Are they full of industry jargon? If you answer yes to any of these, consider updating.

After all, you and/or your business is unique. So, everything about it should reflect that.  

And I’m sure there are plenty of clients out there like me, looking to work with professionals that bring something unique to the table, not “business as usual.” 

Towanda Long aka The Café Lady

One response to “Your Image: Don’t Be Afraid To Be Different

  1. Hi Towanda
    This is such a great point. The only real differentiator we have is ourselves. It takes courage and confidence to realize that it’s not so much what we do, but the way we do it, that draws people to us.

    Thanks for the reminder!

    Liz

Leave a Reply

