Pet Peeves of Pregnancy

Here’s a post I wrote a few years ago. However, I’m reposting because it is still VERY truthful. Enjoy!

I loved being pregnant, and I couldn’t wait to meet my mini-me. However, I do have a few pointers for people that gravitate towards bellies, both with their hands and unsolicited advice. First of all,PLEASE BEWARE! And this is a biggie…

DO NOT touch my belly. It is uncomfortable when strangers touch me. At no other time is this seen as acceptable. And since pregnant women are very cautious with their bodies, why would you venture towards my unborn child?

2. I DO NOT need to hear daily comments about my size. I look in the mirror everyday. I see that I’m growing. I see that my regular clothes don’t fit and constant reminders from you do not make it better.

3. I understand that seeing a pregnant woman reminds you of when you were pregnant. BUT, I am in the grocery store. I’m exhausted and I just want to get this shopping over with. I really DO NOT want to hear your 9-month synopsis of pregnancy and I definitely don’t want to hear about your excruciating labor. Is it your practice to find vulnerable women in vulnerable situations and torture them? Don’t you remember what pregnancy felt like?

4. DO NOT make me feel bad if my symptoms are different from yours. Not every woman gets sick, not everyone swells. But, trust me, we all have our battles to bear during this time (see 1, 2, and 3).

And finally,

5. PLEASE, DO NOT take it personal if I do not follow your advice. First of all, I didn’t ask for it. It’s unsolicited. Do you like when telemarketers call you? Well, your advice is kind of like that. Do you understand how much advice I get on any given day? I can barely keep it straight. After all, I’m pregnant, I’m exhausted, and I just want to sleep. I appreciate that you mean well. But, you have to understand my point of view as well.

Yes, it does feel good to get this off my chest. Moms-to-be, feel free to forward this.

 Towanda Long

One response to “Pet Peeves of Pregnancy

  1. My wife is seven weeks in, and already we are inundated with “helpful” advice. Too bad we can’t treat these people like telemarketers and just hang up on them!

Leave a Reply

